Ms. Kusuma Cooray was inducted Dean of
the Consular Corps Hawaii
February 18, 2012

The Consular Corps of Hawaii held its 59th Inaugural Ceremony on Saturday,
February 18, at the Sheraton Waikiki to induct its incoming officers and present awards
honoring outstanding public service.

Kusuma Cooray, Honorary Consul of Sri Lanka, was inducted as 2012 Dean of the
Consular Corps by Hawaii Chief Justice Mark E. Recktenwald. Other Consular Corps
officers inducted were Vice Dean, Consul General of Australia, Scott Dewar; Secretary,
Honorary Consul of Norway, Nina Fasi; Treasurer, Honorary Consular Agent of Tonga,
Annie Kaneshiro; Auditor, Honorary Consul of Morocco, M. Jan Rumi; Historian,
Dean Emeritus and retired Honorary Consul of Switzerland, Dr. Nicklaus R. Schweizer.
Leoncio R. Cardenas, Consul General of the Philippines, will serve as Immediate Past Dean.

The Consular Corps of Hawaii consists of seven career Consuls General and
28 Honorary Consuls representing nations on every continent (except Antarctica)
and Oceania. Among the most important tasks of the Corps are promotion of trade;
the maintenance of close relations with the State and County governments and
the military; advising and assisting the nationals of the countries they represent
in Hawaii; and supporting culture and the arts. For more information on the Consular
Corps of Hawaii visit